What does Ag mean to me?

Another repost from my College Aggies Online Group!

To me when I think of agriculture I think of so many different things it is incredible.

The first and most important that I think of is food production.  Food production is a huge part of agriculture.  If the farmers of the world did not grow food, where would it come from?  Would it fall from the sky, like the manna God sent the Israelites, I don’t think we have seen it fall since.  God blessed us with a beautiful earth and made us the stewards of it.  By being good stewards, we also gain the ability to reap the harvest of the bountiful crops it grows.  How we allocate those resources is up to us, but without farmers, our world would be overgrown.

The second thing I think of when I think of agriculture is the tight bond of the agricultural community.  Since having become involved in the ag industry, it never ceases to amaze me how the ag industry is always is able to work together to in light of a crisis to solve a problem.  There is an immense ability to come together.

The third thing that I think of is the responsibility to protect the earth they work so closely with.  As mentioned in the first point, God created this earth, leaving us to be the stewards of it.  Farmers and ranchers continually strive to work to ensure that we are recycling as much as we can.  This continued commitment to the earth is key to agricultures responsibility.  If we cared not, we would have run out of resources and we could not be where we are today.

So I guess when I think of agriculture I think of food, tight community bonds, and great stewardship.  Sounds to me like I think of Paul Harvey and his speech to the FFA entitles, “So God Made a Farmer.”  Agriculture means something different to everyone and there is no one definition that is correct, but rather a collection of definitions that lead to a general idea.  What does ag mean to you?

Until Next Time, Go BEEF!

-Zach

2 thoughts on “What does Ag mean to me?

  1. Karoline,

    Great question! I think that it is important that we work with them as a team to bring all groups closer together. Watch for my next repost on this subject. But with specific regard to the land, we need to specifically bring more to the table about the different technologies we use, for example, slurry pits. Also, I think that it is key we show them how we are not only complying to government regulations, but exceeding them, with regard to land use. It seems that many think that farmers are only planting corn in a field year after year. I don’t know of any farmers who consistently plant only corn in that field. Crop rotation is vital to soil health and continues to yield great benefits.

    Eat BEEF and Boiler UP!

    -Zach

Leave a Reply

