So God Made a Farmer

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So needless to say, I am really excited that the blog topic this week is about last night’s Dodge Ram commercial.  I was really hoping that it would be.  The commercial reflects what many in the agriculture industry are trying to do.  As soon as the commercial came on last night and I realized what was happening, I grabbed my computer from my desk and immediately posted to Facebook, Twitter, and my blog.  What was even more surprising was that there were already about 15 others who had beat me to it, mind you that the commercial was hardly over yet.  Many in the ag industry saw this commercial as an embodiment of what the industry means to us.  As we were all taking to social networks, #GODMADEAFARMER began to trend on Twitter, which made it even better.  By trending on Twitter we knew we had a lot of people out there “agvocating” for us.  To be a part of the agriculture industry is great and means so much to me.  Yes, it may mean early mornings to take care of a sick cow, a newborn calf, or to go show.  But no matter where I am there are always others who share my passion for the industry and I share their passion.  We all work cohesively together for a common goal.  How often do other industries work together in such a big way, most are cut throat, get out my way, and competitive, right?  I always appreciate and enjoy the fact that we are not like that.  Considering that we have the huge task of feeding the world, if we did take part in cut throat competition no one would buy our products.

Leave a Reply

